Connect with us

CNET

Sony’s new WF-1000XM4 earbuds are really &#%[email protected] good! (review)

While they cost $280, or $50 more than their predecessor, Sony’s much-anticipated next-generation noise-canceling earbuds may just be the best all-around true-wireless earbuds available today. CNET’s David Carnoy gives you all the details in his hands-on review of the WF-1000XM4 and compares them to other top noise-canceling earbuds like Bose’s QuietComfort Earbuds. Subscribe to CNET:…

Published

on

While they cost $280, or $50 more than their predecessor, Sony’s much-anticipated next-generation noise-canceling earbuds may just be the best all-around true-wireless earbuds available today. CNET’s David Carnoy gives you all the details in his hands-on review of the WF-1000XM4 and compares them to other top noise-canceling earbuds like Bose’s QuietComfort Earbuds.

Subscribe to CNET:
CNET playlists:
Download the new CNET app:
Like us on Facebook:
Follow us on Twitter:
Follow us on Instagram:

Continue Reading
Advertisement
77 Comments

77 Comments

  1. stagm3

    June 8, 2021 at 10:19 pm

    🤦‍♂️ why only foam tips smh, not everyone likes those

  2. KillerTacos

    June 8, 2021 at 10:33 pm

    Great review

  3. Ryan McAleer

    June 8, 2021 at 10:42 pm

    Wired instead, silicone tips always falls out.

  4. TechVamp

    June 8, 2021 at 11:16 pm

    Now let’s see a VS on the PI7 from Bowers & wilkins

  5. stillatin

    June 8, 2021 at 11:20 pm

    I’ll stick to my Samsung lives, don’t make me look like Frankenstein’s monster

  6. Jerry Huang

    June 8, 2021 at 11:31 pm

    They look huge in ear

  7. Rez Gazi

    June 8, 2021 at 11:35 pm

    You can buy a Sennheiser momentum 3 wireless headphone for this price, these wireless earbuds are getting too expensive. Get a Sennheiser momentum 3 wireless headphone any day.

  8. STE Show

    June 8, 2021 at 11:43 pm

    My next Sony product!

  9. Keto Wolf

    June 8, 2021 at 11:47 pm

    I love the way these look!

  10. Marie A M

    June 8, 2021 at 11:49 pm

    the size is also a big improvement but i hope they make it much less bulky next time

  11. Chris Jodoin

    June 9, 2021 at 12:07 am

    Great review. 👍👍What happened to multi-point connectivity? At this price it should have that feature. This is where Sony really could have stood out of the crowd. What are your thoughts? Thank you

  12. Scott McDonald

    June 9, 2021 at 12:08 am

    with my Bose QuietComfort often times the person I’m talking to will hear an insane amount of background noise and a very painful way. do these have a similar problem with the noise canceling microphones picking up static-like background noise?

  13. jcamargo2048

    June 9, 2021 at 12:15 am

    This vs the Galaxy Buds Pro?

  14. Gavin Miller

    June 9, 2021 at 12:17 am

    How long do the batteries last for use. Like when does it need replaced?

  15. H

    June 9, 2021 at 12:19 am

    Too pricey, i would wait for it to get $200

  16. Justin Swapp

    June 9, 2021 at 12:21 am

    Go Jazz! 4:26

  17. Harvey -

    June 9, 2021 at 12:33 am

    Love that you included the codes!

  18. Abhi

    June 9, 2021 at 12:33 am

    Waiting for their new line of DAPs

  19. Vuthy Va

    June 9, 2021 at 12:35 am

    Can it connect to Phone and PC at the same time?

  20. RAF Sanpatsu

    June 9, 2021 at 12:38 am

    Listening to this with my WF-1000XM3s.

  21. SHJ HSN

    June 9, 2021 at 12:44 am

    Anyone knows how tall he is? It looks bigger to his ear than any other reviewers.

  22. Kian Lai

    June 9, 2021 at 12:45 am

    Can any earpiece work in the ear alone like the airpods?

  23. Siddhant Kumar

    June 9, 2021 at 12:55 am

    PS- the mic isn’t good. It’s something no YouTuber is talking properly about as of now maybe because these are sponsored reviews I guess.

  24. Latir Downes-Thomas

    June 9, 2021 at 12:59 am

    Really impressive review. Thank you!

  25. ABSV /a beautiful sunset vlog

    June 9, 2021 at 1:22 am

    So much nicer looking than AirPods QTip outta the ear thing😂

  26. Nugraha Triputra

    June 9, 2021 at 6:59 pm

    This dude, bridget carey and peak-sexual-performance dong ngo are the og triple threat of cnet

  27. P punkt P

    June 9, 2021 at 7:04 pm

    Sony ist allways good

  28. Jay Dee

    June 9, 2021 at 7:11 pm

    Those things look huge.

  29. Marius Giafferi

    June 9, 2021 at 7:18 pm

    Thank you for this great review! Greetings from France🇨🇵

  30. Faizal Ijay

    June 9, 2021 at 7:25 pm

    Honest review and Malaysian made earbuds, can’t wait to have them. Thank you sir

  31. AnepuAnubis

    June 9, 2021 at 7:36 pm

    Good day. How is it on windy days? Can you hear noises like in the earlier version?

  32. Thang Te

    June 9, 2021 at 7:43 pm

    I don’t like the style. It look bulky

  33. Flash4150

    June 9, 2021 at 8:21 pm

    Great review

  34. Paul Anderson

    June 9, 2021 at 9:04 pm

    I just bought the Bose, would be interesting to try these, but happy with the quite comfort ear buds and the wing design.

  35. Eric Tingkingco

    June 9, 2021 at 9:18 pm

    That unboxing like unboxing of an egg 🥺🥺🥺

  36. lawnmowerdude

    June 9, 2021 at 9:20 pm

    What a catchy name.

  37. neelsn007

    June 9, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    Mention of codecs in a TWS earphones review is always appreciated

  38. White Bird

    June 9, 2021 at 9:55 pm

    What about phone conversation

  39. Danderdolf

    June 9, 2021 at 10:11 pm

    When headphones costs more than a pc

  40. Wayne Brooks

    June 9, 2021 at 10:37 pm

    The battery life is a downgrade from the WF-1000XM3’s. I listen to music longer than 8 hours. Hopefully the rest of the Specs on the WF-1000XM4’s didn’t downgrade as well. Either way I want to get a pair as soon as the stores sell them.

    Ps: oh wow I didn’t know they don’t connect to multiple devices that is an upgrade that would’ve been useful.

    • YezzirskIIIz

      June 10, 2021 at 12:03 am

      8 hours with ANC on 12 hours with ANC off.

  41. ifeel sic

    June 9, 2021 at 11:06 pm

    These old people have no idea what’s there telling about. Get someone else to do these reviews. Waste of time

  42. Eb R

    June 9, 2021 at 11:24 pm

    Dude, repeating the product features is not a review. come on, cnet…

  43. acdnan Abdi

    June 10, 2021 at 12:00 am

    The earliest look amazing to me

  44. Clement Zulueta

    June 10, 2021 at 12:16 am

    can you swim with them ?

  45. Roberto Jofre

    June 10, 2021 at 12:24 am

    great review btw!

  46. rrbarcarse

    June 10, 2021 at 12:25 am

    I had the Samsung Buds, then upgraded to the MF-1000XM3. I wished for features of Sony and form factor of Samsung Buds. Also simultaneous Bluetooth connection. Waited for the new Bose ANC earphones and the XM4 and both are a disappointment. Either too big and no dual connection feature. Tried out Jabra Elite 85T and I think I found what I’m looking for. For me great ANC, small form factor, simultaneous Bluetooth connection and nice easy control. I love being able to work on my computer and switch to my phone and no longer need to mess with the Bluetooth connections. Sound just works between devices.

  47. brokenlegz

    June 10, 2021 at 12:54 am

    At 6:00 when you choose ambient sound control what settings do you get? Is it on off and ambient noise? Or just on and ambient noise?

    I like the natural feeling of off sometimes and it would be good to be able to get to it from the bud without the app.

  48. F K

    June 10, 2021 at 1:09 am

    Would love to know how loud these play. Something I’ve noticed with every ANC earbud I’ve tried is they all play weak.

  49. Jay Smith

    June 10, 2021 at 1:12 am

    They need to be smaller. Not everybody has large ears.

  50. Cen Blackwell

    June 10, 2021 at 1:25 am

    I wonder if they’ve fixed the occasional connectivity issues with iPhones that the XM3’s suffered from. If so these will be an easy buy for me.

  51. Sunny Thakur

    June 10, 2021 at 8:19 am

    latency time of earbud

  52. danielkjnp

    June 10, 2021 at 9:33 am

    The white ones look like hearing aides! 😳

  53. bannajirocks

    June 10, 2021 at 10:16 am

    airpods pro are super comfy and very nuetral sound ( that i love), the only gripe is low battery.

  54. Sylfix

    June 10, 2021 at 10:17 am

    I honestly don’t mind my 1000 xm3. No waterproofing is the only thing I don’t like

  55. Don Mckinney

    June 10, 2021 at 10:37 am

    I’ll hold off until my man Flossy Carter does his review!

  56. AllZ

    June 10, 2021 at 10:38 am

    I want this to use with iPhone. Does Sony’s app support apple?

  57. MiscGlory Official

    June 10, 2021 at 11:11 am

    why on earth wouldbnt you let people listen to the sound tests for background noise / traffic / talking / general noise cancelling???!!!!??! rubbish review

  58. When You’re Bored

    June 10, 2021 at 11:11 am

    why is this so hyped?
    i seen it everywhere

  59. Rachid HF

    June 10, 2021 at 11:24 am

    Thank’s to the editor to include that AptX is a Qualcomm thing, people don’t seem to know about that fact.

  60. buddhamic13

    June 10, 2021 at 11:48 am

    Does anyone know if these earbuds can quick disconnect from a device. What I mean is, say for example I have the XM4’s paired (NOT connected) to my phone and laptop. I then connect the XM4’s to my phone. If I want to switch the connection to my laptop, can I simply just go to the bluetooth settings on my laptop and hit connect WITHOUT having to go on my phone and disconnecting first? The pixel buds are able to do this where you can “steal” the connection from another device without having to disconnect on that device first.

    • Blake Owens

      June 10, 2021 at 3:27 pm

      I use the XM3’s at work and can quickly switch between my phone and Apple Watch without having to first disconnect.

  61. Sathish Rao

    June 10, 2021 at 12:32 pm

    Listened to this on my Sennheiser Momentum TW 1 without noise cancellation which cost $300 😞

  62. Jamol SAMIEV

    June 10, 2021 at 12:43 pm

    Can they be used one at a time?

  63. f0t0b0y

    June 10, 2021 at 12:43 pm

    Holy ear tumor Batman!

  64. Raum Bances

    June 10, 2021 at 1:13 pm

    Review was great. But I did do a double take on the thumbnail. It looked like earbuds next to a toilet.

  65. Son Goku

    June 10, 2021 at 2:29 pm

    Nice bongs

  66. Peter Michailidis

    June 10, 2021 at 2:36 pm

    these are definitely my next purchase. Was waiting for Jabra to release an Elite Active 85t but these look like a winner to me. I’ve always been a fan of Foam Tips over silicon. Too bad they’re sold out already though.

  67. La Sal

    June 10, 2021 at 3:06 pm

    Case is too big and to sharp. Won’t fit in a pocket without a massive bulge. No, thank you.

  68. usasupra23

    June 10, 2021 at 3:20 pm

    These sounds like a great unit! Congrats Sony!!!!! Now bring good phones back to the USA carriers

  69. living life smoke grass and eat ass

    June 10, 2021 at 3:35 pm

    4:38 what if he dropped it on accident?

  70. topnee

    June 10, 2021 at 4:11 pm

    Love the review. I wonder what kind of music or what song you usually play to test the headphones.

  71. Soundwave Superior

    June 10, 2021 at 4:27 pm

    Nice, I just bought the WF 1000XM3.

  72. Nhật Minh Nguyễn

    June 10, 2021 at 5:11 pm

    Professional reviewer!

  73. SL

    June 10, 2021 at 7:54 pm

    These still look too BIG to me! I’m sticking with the Jabra Elite Active 75t.

  74. N

    June 10, 2021 at 7:58 pm

    Someday i hope that we get to see battery life on bluetooth earbuds to be 30 hours, the same battery life we see on bluetooth headphones nowadays.

  75. Fatal Error

    June 11, 2021 at 12:31 am

    Glad you touched on the codecs. It will be more and more important as time goes on. Happy to hear companies are moving forward from what’s been utilized here for ages it seems. 👍😇

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CNET

Mr. Trash Wheel gobbles garbage all the live-long day

There has been a great renaissance in garbage collection technology in the past 10 years and Mr. Trash Wheel is one of the pioneers, collecting over 3 million pounds of trash in Baltimore, Maryland. An old technology becomes new again and is changing the landscape of the beautiful inner harbor. Read the CNET article publishing…

Published

on

There has been a great renaissance in garbage collection technology in the past 10 years and Mr. Trash Wheel is one of the pioneers, collecting over 3 million pounds of trash in Baltimore, Maryland. An old technology becomes new again and is changing the landscape of the beautiful inner harbor.

Read the CNET article publishing on Monday the 14th at 4am PT:
Mr. Trash Wheel is gobbling up millions of pounds of trash

Watch the full video interview with John Kellet publishing on Monday the 14th at 4am PT:
Meet Mr. Trash Wheel, the great garbage gobbler of Baltimore

Mr. Trash Wheel
Clearwater Mills
Waterfront Partnership of Baltimore

Subscribe to CNET:
CNET playlists:
Download the new CNET app:
Like us on Facebook:
Follow us on Twitter:
Follow us on Instagram:

#PlasticPollution #MrTrashWheel #environmental

Continue Reading

CNET

The app that’s turning everyone into a cartoon on Instagram #shorts

Voila AI Artist is the latest cartoon craze going around Facebook, Instagram and more. It’s free on iPhone and Android. Here’s how to turn yourself into a cartoon.

Published

on

Voila AI Artist is the latest cartoon craze going around Facebook, Instagram and more. It’s free on iPhone and Android. Here’s how to turn yourself into a cartoon.

Continue Reading

CNET

I loved the new Apple TV Siri remote (until I used it)

The Apple TV remote has a brand-new design that aims to fix many of the complaints about the previous one. CNET’s Logan Moy explains why he went from really excited to terribly disappointed after using it for a few weeks. You can buy the Apple TV remote here: *CNET may get a commission from this…

Published

on

The Apple TV remote has a brand-new design that aims to fix many of the complaints about the previous one. CNET’s Logan Moy explains why he went from really excited to terribly disappointed after using it for a few weeks.

You can buy the Apple TV remote here:
*CNET may get a commission from this offer.

Follow @LoganMoy on Twitter:

Subscribe to CNET:
CNET playlists:
Download the new CNET app:
Like us on Facebook:
Follow us on Twitter:
Follow us on Instagram:

Continue Reading

Trending