Connect with us

CNET

Android 12: What’s new in the first developer preview

The latest version of Android brings more visual tweaks to notifications and performance enhancements under your phone’s hood. Here’s what the first developer preview looks like.

CYBER TECH TV

Published

on

The latest version of Android brings more visual tweaks to notifications and performance enhancements under your phone’s hood. Here’s what the first developer preview looks like.

Continue Reading
Advertisement
82 Comments

82 Comments

  1. Avatar

    Ridam Chaudhary

    February 19, 2021 at 3:30 pm

    Android 12 is just a number. Nothing new. If you have samsung one ui you don’t need this number.

    • Avatar

      Timothy McSwain

      February 19, 2021 at 5:10 pm

      But for sane Android users (aka those with non-Samsung devices) this is a great way to have Samsung’s few useful features without downgrading to their phones.

  2. Avatar

    IZ Gaming

    February 19, 2021 at 3:45 pm

    Lol. My phone (Nokia 6.1 Plus) is still on Android 10 (despite it’s a Android ONE device) and 12 is already coming soon…

    • Avatar

      Salman Khan

      February 19, 2021 at 4:03 pm

      I have pixel 2xl and will have to wait for custom rom lol

  3. Avatar

    Pitch Black

    February 19, 2021 at 3:46 pm

    Amoled dark mode is no more….rip

  4. Avatar

    Zeus Starfall

    February 19, 2021 at 3:54 pm

    👍🏽♥️💥😍😉😁

  5. Avatar

    vishnu deep

    February 19, 2021 at 3:54 pm

    teekh hain.

  6. Avatar

    R

    February 19, 2021 at 3:54 pm

    For people who just got a11, a12 will take 6months to officially release.

  7. Avatar

    Amir Moradi

    February 19, 2021 at 4:08 pm

    2021 and I’m still rocking my Pixel 2

    • Avatar

      Eduardo Lara

      February 19, 2021 at 5:19 pm

      Same situation, but I have an S9 instead!

  8. Avatar

    Berr Ruh

    February 19, 2021 at 4:40 pm

    Why do people freak out about these updates so much, androids are already so customizable

  9. Avatar

    Dedu Tedy

    February 19, 2021 at 4:56 pm

    As far as i know most of them i already have in android10… Maybe you did not knew them

  10. Avatar

    Timothy McSwain

    February 19, 2021 at 5:03 pm

    The “back tap” is a feature that sounds better than it actually is, in my experience. I tried it for a little over a month on the iOS 14 beta, last summer. Hopefully it’s more reliable now than it was then, but I haven’t tried it again and haven’t missed it. Maybe the experience will be different on Android… but don’t expect it to be great.

  11. Avatar

    John Gyver

    February 19, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    2:54 – I wonder how this back tap is detected by the phone – if it’s done by accelerometer sensor detecting some specific movement of the phone, we’ll probably have a lot of false-positives.

  12. Avatar

    Boko Gigani

    February 19, 2021 at 5:24 pm

    Lexy really like her green blouse.

  13. Avatar

    elementiro

    February 19, 2021 at 5:35 pm

    My phone still uses Android 4.4, why am I even watching this.

    • Avatar

      Tu Maldita Madre

      February 19, 2021 at 7:42 pm

      Because you hate KitKat but don’t want to get rid of it

    • Avatar

      Jiwoo Park

      February 19, 2021 at 10:47 pm

      Security experts would like to know your location

  14. Avatar

    korysh cwe

    February 19, 2021 at 5:58 pm

    Silky Home was not mentiond, this review is really half baked

  15. Avatar

    Cancer Called Human Species

    February 19, 2021 at 6:26 pm

    Those leaks were the UI I would prefer… Happy with One UI… User friendly UI 😍

  16. Avatar

    Cesar Ruiz

    February 19, 2021 at 6:59 pm

    Am I the only one who doesn’t like that new blue screen thing

  17. Avatar

    SAPPY

    February 19, 2021 at 7:37 pm

    Yo

  18. Avatar

    benson almeida

    February 19, 2021 at 7:44 pm

    No one, literally no one…

    …gives a damn 🤣

  19. Avatar

    Gaganpreet Singh

    February 19, 2021 at 7:48 pm

    I have an Oppo and a Xiaomi.
    Honestly i like the skins on them much better than stock at this point.
    So many features and UI tweaks that make the device feel brand new.
    But stock android is so dull at this point and pixel phones have been having so many issues every single one of them had or has issues and google never replaced the devices or done anything responsible that I dont even care at this point whatever google comes up with.
    Current Pixel devices have camera and battery drain issues that have not been fixed months after their release and google hasnt taken any responsibility or has replaced any device.
    Its good that there are under the hood tweaks to Android 12 for other manufacturers to put their skins on lol.

  20. Avatar

    kartik Ng21

    February 19, 2021 at 8:25 pm

    Honestly, I don’t see any difference in android since, the last 3 years.. The changes are way too minimal and people tend to use their phone the way they use it before.. using android 11 feels no different from using android 9. A little bit changes in the notification panel icons, some gesture are useless to the average consumers. Who use YouTube, calling, some gaming, listening music and Browsing on the smartphone.. smartphones are getting really boring nowadays.

  21. Avatar

    Mahede Rabbi

    February 19, 2021 at 8:59 pm

    I saw this type others video but I came here for her.

  22. Avatar

    igorb81

    February 19, 2021 at 9:46 pm

    Looks like Google and certainly Apple still having hard time trying to keep up with Samsung One UI. I have been with Samsung since original Galaxy S and now with the best phone ever made Note 20 Ultra. Best experience and customer for life.

  23. Avatar

    Slaid Louis Michel

    February 19, 2021 at 9:55 pm

    Sigh… Google’s Android fragmentation is so annoying. Most people will never see this unless they a new phone. I might switch over to iOS

  24. Avatar

    Elgene

    February 19, 2021 at 11:33 pm

    Android be updating features little by little like how Iphone improves their hardware little by little per year.
    Then Android specs improves quite a lot while Iphone software improves quite a lot aswell.

  25. Avatar

    yass123

    February 20, 2021 at 12:14 am

    I’m just mesmerized by Lexy’s eyes 😍

  26. Avatar

    Silvio Britto

    February 20, 2021 at 4:31 am

    OneUI is rulling. Highly successful. Oneplus, now Google… as people say, copying is the major compliment.

  27. Avatar

    Kevin Wolff

    February 20, 2021 at 4:59 am

    You forgot to mention the other features added to the screenshot tool besides the emoji stickers, such as text application and also the ability to swipe away the pop-up notification after each screenshot rather than pressing the tiny little x.

  28. Avatar

    Nayre

    February 20, 2021 at 5:14 am

    For being rave as being fast, stock android is quite slow in implementing important features. Features which most custom skins already have…

  29. Avatar

    David Williams

    February 20, 2021 at 5:51 am

    I feel saddened Alphabet stopped having fun with the version names. 😕

  30. Avatar

    ᜇᜊᜒᜇ᜔

    February 20, 2021 at 7:46 am

    Windows Phone UI is much better than Android

  31. Avatar

    Purushottam Singh

    February 20, 2021 at 9:26 am

    Thik hhh….😀🔥😎

  32. Avatar

    ALPHA PLAYZ

    February 20, 2021 at 10:52 am

    Andro 12 is not too much exciting in my opinion

  33. Avatar

    Frankie

    February 20, 2021 at 11:30 am

    Yo

  34. Avatar

    Sandip

    February 20, 2021 at 1:06 pm

    I dispointed because still my phone running with Android 10 📱

  35. Avatar

    hemanth kumar tirupati

    February 20, 2021 at 1:09 pm

    I think that snoozing notifications is pretty useless. Is it just me or does anyone snooze their notifications?

  36. Avatar

    AT3D

    February 20, 2021 at 1:53 pm

    Meanwhile I’m waiting for Android 11 to be pushed to my OnePlus 7T smh

  37. Avatar

    nuyou21

    February 20, 2021 at 2:53 pm

    Wow Google, even more shamelessly ripped-off iOS features. Poor Android, always trying to play catch up. 🤦‍♂️

  38. Avatar

    Ownagemaximus 556

    February 20, 2021 at 3:08 pm

    Both iOS and Android have matured with their updates. They’re not really groundbreaking like they used to be in terms of added update features.

  39. Avatar

    ben playle

    February 20, 2021 at 3:12 pm

    I was hoping for more consistent and cohesive widgets throughout apps. E.g android setting a basic shape for widgets to be. also better widgets for googles own apps.
    Or even folders in the app draw or a horizontal app draw!

  40. Avatar

    Abby H 2025

    February 20, 2021 at 3:45 pm

    why am i watching this i have an iphone lol
    android still cool tho, really pretty os

  41. Avatar

    iosk pad101•igbo traveler•

    February 20, 2021 at 5:23 pm

    Yeahhhh I’m waiting

  42. Avatar

    CHR LO

    February 20, 2021 at 5:40 pm

    i think eyeshadow too much

  43. Avatar

    Evanson Chege

    February 20, 2021 at 7:50 pm

    I kinda liked the kicks

  44. Avatar

    Roshan

    February 20, 2021 at 8:31 pm

    Yo

  45. Avatar

    SNUGZ

    February 20, 2021 at 8:53 pm

    note 20 ultra here and still no one ui 3.1 still running older one … smh

  46. Avatar

    Guapo Prince

    February 20, 2021 at 9:18 pm

    iOS steals from android and android steals from iOS

  47. Avatar

    danielstar

    February 20, 2021 at 10:27 pm

    She’s hot! ❤️💕😍😘😚

  48. Avatar

    Jake King

    February 20, 2021 at 11:21 pm

    just bought 3 phones with activation lock. lost $400 and apple can’t do anything unless i have original receipt of my dead uncle and my missus friends dad. So i’m moving to android cause if you forgot your password in apple you pretty much just have to sell the phone for parts

    • Avatar

      JEPBAR HALMYRADOW

      February 21, 2021 at 12:26 am

      Apple didn’t gave access even to FBI, then what do you expect?
      That is how secure your ‘personal’ device is with Apple
      Like it or not that’s your choice
      For some people it may look too much but for PPL who somewhat care about some privacy that’s a go for device

  49. Avatar

    Old Man Leon

    February 21, 2021 at 12:14 am

    I really want to switch back to android after this riveting presentation. “Does anyone care”? Meh

  50. Avatar

    CchyDee

    February 21, 2021 at 1:09 am

    Backtap, WiFi nearby share… oh nooooo, Android didn’t copy Apple at all. 😒

  51. Avatar

    Kaai Kivi

    February 21, 2021 at 2:19 am

    This is bigger, 4 instead of 6 icons, that is bigger, you can add emojis to screenshots, share passwords… these are all things I don’t want!

  52. Avatar

    Million Roses

    February 21, 2021 at 4:07 am

    When they release android11 for midrange galaxies 😑😑😑

  53. Avatar

    Jonathan Azcoitia

    February 21, 2021 at 4:40 am

    This lady looks young and old at the same time .

    • Avatar

      Bonnie Munene

      February 22, 2021 at 10:45 am

      Very true. Haha

  54. Avatar

    Saurabh Jha

    February 21, 2021 at 5:24 am

    they literally have nothing do do new

  55. Avatar

    Bhagyshree Tambe

    February 21, 2021 at 8:53 am

    I am still in android 11 beta here and you are talking about android 12

  56. Avatar

    akhil roy

    February 21, 2021 at 9:06 am

    Borin a f

  57. Avatar

    Kay Mwanza

    February 21, 2021 at 9:34 am

    I’m still on Android 10 waiting for 11, now this…..

  58. Avatar

    Quby evoy

    February 21, 2021 at 10:51 am

    I think there is only a slight change from the previous Android, it is more appropriate to call it Android 11.2

  59. Avatar

    RAJESH KUMAR

    February 21, 2021 at 11:59 am

    I Expect game mode on 12 🧐

  60. Avatar

    Henré Rossouw

    February 21, 2021 at 12:57 pm

    I like how much Android has evolved since the early days when we downloaded custom roms from XDA Devs. I don’t want to fiddle anymore. I want stock ROMs to be clean and minimalistic. Guess it’s why I use iOS these days. I like where this is headed though.

  61. Avatar

    Ken

    February 21, 2021 at 1:25 pm

    Read between the lines, she said not to watch it lol

  62. Avatar

    Muhamad Khoiron

    February 21, 2021 at 3:45 pm

    Looks like Android wants to catch up with IOS🤣

    • Avatar

      Dark Matter

      February 22, 2021 at 12:56 am

      Just like ios added widgets and spotify compatibility. Lol

      Both ios and Android copy from each other, and it’s made each of their devices better because of it….. except android is still the king of multitasking. And don’t get me started on their google assistant android features, that basically craps all over siri.

  63. Avatar

    ARUN KUMAR

    February 21, 2021 at 4:01 pm

    04:00-5:30 I already has that three features……in my moto G9

  64. Avatar

    Julius Nanor

    February 21, 2021 at 8:07 pm

    Scrolling through the app screen page should also be considered as an option for personalizing the app screen page🤔

  65. Avatar

    Wilson Mercedes

    February 22, 2021 at 12:33 am

    Looks boring as usual, one UI 4.0 i count on you

  66. Avatar

    Aghy Nurzian Syahputra

    February 22, 2021 at 1:51 am

    I guess Android getting more like iOS, and iOS more like android too nowadays. in my honest opinion nearby shares are like an airdrop, and the back tap thing is already on iOS 14 that releases on September 16, 2020. And at the same time, iOS 14 are release “Widget” that android coming it the feature first on their smartphone, lmao 😂😂😂

  67. Avatar

    DD

    February 22, 2021 at 3:50 am

    Basically naming things iPhones already do

  68. Avatar

    KillMongeR

    February 22, 2021 at 5:51 am

    whats the point of changing fonts color shades tabs transition? then these new apps requires new android os that doesnt even have anything to do with their app like netflix. it requires updated ios and android just to watch movies? these trend are so lame just to make people buy updated phones

  69. Avatar

    Anup Yadav

    February 22, 2021 at 9:03 am

    How’s the screen recorder

  70. Avatar

    Abhishek Gupta

    February 22, 2021 at 10:23 am

    At this point they are just playing catch up with iOS

  71. Avatar

    abel Mposha

    February 22, 2021 at 12:23 pm

    Looks like one UI 3

  72. Avatar

    Hentai Chick

    February 22, 2021 at 5:15 pm

    They should’ve waited for phone companies to upgrade to android 11 before introducing another version of android.

  73. Avatar

    josue ocampo

    February 22, 2021 at 6:49 pm

    Android 11 in Xiaomi Mi A3 not work really well, now, it’s much more difficult to take a screenshot, yes, pressing the power button and volume down works, but it was much more easy with the power button, and now even the power button doesn’t work for that, also there isn’t a toggle on the Notification bar to do that, it’s more difficult now, and the bubble’s messages doesn’t even work, so Android 10 is still better now

  74. Avatar

    REH

    February 22, 2021 at 11:11 pm

    Typical Android. They make a big deal out of nothing. All these changes are nothing more then entertaining. They have no real productivity uses. Android is over doing the customizable features and not on anything that will blow you away with the apps that will make hard core IPhone users to switch.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CNET

How to find the best gaming TV for the money in 2021 💸

Here are the most important details to consider when buying a TV primarily for gaming, be it a console like the Xbox Series X or PlayStation 5, or even for a PC connection.

CYBER TECH TV

Published

on

Here are the most important details to consider when buying a TV primarily for gaming, be it a console like the Xbox Series X or PlayStation 5, or even for a PC connection.

Continue Reading

CNET

New MacBook Pros: The most exciting rumors

Reports are coming in left and right about Apple’s newest Pro laptops. We could be looking at an iPhone-like design, the return of MagSafe and potentially the death of the Touch Bar.

CYBER TECH TV

Published

on

Reports are coming in left and right about Apple’s newest Pro laptops. We could be looking at an iPhone-like design, the return of MagSafe and potentially the death of the Touch Bar.

Continue Reading

CNET

Cryptocurrency vs Gamers: How Nvidia hopes to fight mass GPU shortages 💰

In a move to stop Ethereum crypto-miners, Nvidia has developed its next GPU to deter them. The RTX 3060 will have hardware and software measures in place to combat miners, and hopefully reserve some stock for PC gamers.

CYBER TECH TV

Published

on

In a move to stop Ethereum crypto-miners, Nvidia has developed its next GPU to deter them. The RTX 3060 will have hardware and software measures in place to combat miners, and hopefully reserve some stock for PC gamers.

Continue Reading

Trending